Personal #3 Is There Life After Chocolate?

The perfect food.

If I could choose my last meal I can say without hesitation it would be chocolate, for there is no food more perfect.

Sure it’s high in fat, sugar and caffeine.  But it has redeeming qualities.  Research shows dark chocolate especially, has antioxidants that help lower blood pressure and cholesterol, and improve blood flow to the brain and heart. 

But forget all that.  It just tastes GOOD.  No, it FEELS GOOD!  There’s research on that too.  Turns out the caffeine, theobromine and phenyethylamine in chocolate have addictive qualities that  trigger the brain’s pleasure centers.  In fact lab tests showed that rats would rather eat nothing at all for two weeks than eat healthy when their junk food and chocolate were taken away. 

Lab rats, I feel your pain.  I’ve never been a smoker, drinker, or the kind of person who makes New Year’s resolutions to quit bad habits.  But I’m starting to think I need an intervention over chocolate.  Nutritionists say it’s okay to indulge in about an ounce of dark chocolate a few times a week.  Hmmm.  How about a few times a day?  The past few months of school, work and parenting have been fueled by frequent raids on the cupboard, even the kids’ Valentine’s gifts and Easter baskets!

So, about 10 days ago I decided this was madness and I should quit.  But then I decided it would be too stressful to quit before the end of semester. (Are you sensing an addict’s reasoning here?)  So my “break free” day is now May 1 – a nice round number.  Of course announcing this date to myself has caused me to double down on the chocolate eating since I’ll soon be cut off.

So, will I ever again be able to have just one?  Is there life after chocolate?

Here now, the chocolate-lover’s reasoning on why I shouldn’t bother to find out:

  • Q: Why is there no such organization as Chocoholics Anonymous?
    A: Because no one wants to quit.
  • “The 12-step chocoholics program: Never be more than 12 steps away from chocolate!” – Terry Moore
  • Chocolate is cheaper than therapy and you don’t need an appointment.
    — Catherine Aitken
  • If you’ve got melted chocolate all over your hands, you’re eating it too slowly.
  • How do you get 2 pounds of chocolate home in a hot car – eat it in the car park.
  • Chocolate has preservatives. Preservatives make you look younger.
  • A nice box of chocolates can provide your total daily intake of calories in one go.  Isn’t that handy?
  • I could give up chocolate but I’m not a quitter.
One response to “Personal #3 Is There Life After Chocolate?

  1. Pingback: RESPONSE #2: My Perfect Food « Pennsyljersington

Leave a Reply

